The National Strong Motion Network

Strong motion seismographs are shoe box sized instruments designed to record the details of very strong ground motions wherethe traditional high-gain seismographs used to routinely locate earthquakes go off scale. They are often called accelerographs because they measure acceleration of the ground. For complete characterization of the ground movement, shaking is measured in three perpendicular directions (one vertical, and two horizontal). Strong motion records of earthquakes are extremely useful to engineers designing earthquake resistant structures.

Internet Accelerograph

The Geological Survey of Canada has developed a new type of strong motion seismograph called the Internet Accelerograph which is permanently connected to the Internet and records data continuously rather than in "triggered mode". The new instrument also continuously computes a set of parameters which characterize the intensity of shaking and actively reports those values whenever ground shaking exceeds certain levels to the GSC's data centres. Waveform data can be retrieved from an instrument at any time over the Internet.

Older type accelerographs typically operate in triggered mode. They only begin recording when the ground shaking exceeds a given threshold, typically 0.25 - 1% g, with g being the earth's acceleration. Data retrieval required a visit to the site.

Subnetwork deployments

The Geological Survey of Canada operates a network of more than 110 strong motion instruments in the seismically-active area of British Columbia. About 105 of those are the new type of Internet Accelerographs. The majority of these instruments are located in urban settings in the more densely populated southwest corner of the province. The Ministry of Transportation in British Columbia currently has six of its own instruments integrated with the network. In addition, British Columbia Hydro has deployed strong motion instruments at a number of their facilities across the province.

In Eastern Canada the GSC operates a network of eighteen instruments radiating out from the seismically active Charlevoix zone. Hydro-Quebec has installed instruments at four hydro-electric dams to provide free-field and structural response for generating systems along the Manicouagan River. They have also instrumented eight high voltage substations to characterize the response of the the overburden after three stations were severely damaged during the 1988 Saguenay Earthquake. In addition, Gaz Metropolitain has one free field digital accelerograph installed at its LNG plant in Montreal, and New Brunswick Power has one at the Point Lepreau nuclear generating station.

Réseau national de sismographes pour secousses fortes

Les sismographes pour secousses fortes sont des instruments de la taille d'une boîte à chaussures qui sont conçus pour enregistrer les détails des mouvements au sol très forts où les sismographes à gain élevé traditionnels utilisés pour localiser par habitude des tremblements de terre vont outre de la plage. On les appel souvent les accélérographes parce qu'ils mesurent l'accélération du sol. Pour la caractérisation complète du mouvement du sol, on mesure les secousses dans trois directions perpendiculaires (une verticale et deux horizontales). Les enregistrements de secousses fortes des séismes sont extrêmement utiles aux ingénieurs pour la conception de structures résistantes aux séismes.

Internet Accelerograph

La Commission géologique du Canada a élaboré un nouveau type de sismographe pour secousses fortes appelé accélérographe Internet qui est relié à l'Internet en permanence et qui enregistre les données en mode continu plutôt qu'en mode "déclenché". Le nouvel instrument calcule également en continu un ensemble de paramètres qui caractérisent l'intensité de la secousse et signalent activement ces valeurs aux centres de données de la CGC lorsque les secousses dépassent certains niveaux. Les données sismiques de niveau II peuvent être extraites d'un instrument en tout temps par le biais de l'Internet.

Les anciens types d'accélérographes fonctionnent généralement en mode "déclenché". Ils commencent seulement à enregistrer lorsque la secousse dépasse un seuil donné, généralement 0,25 à 1 % g, où g est l'accélération de la Terre. L'extraction des données nécessite une visite au site.

Déploiements de sous-réseau

La Commission géologique du Canada exploite un réseau de plus de 110 instruments pour secousses fortes dans la région sismique active de la Colombie-Britannique. Environ 105 de ces instruments sont les nouveaux types d'accélérographes Internet. La plupart de ces instruments sont situés dans des environnements urbains du coin sud-ouest le plus densément peuplé de la province. De plus, la société B.C. Hydro a déployé des instruments pour secousses fortes dans certaines de ses installations à la grandeur de la province.

Dans l'Est du Canada la CGC exploite un réseau de dix-huit instruments dans la région sismique active de Charlevoix. Hydro-Québec a installé des instruments à quatre barrages hydro-électriques afin d'offrir une réponse structurale en champ libre pour les systèmes de génération le long de la rivière Manicouagan. La société a également installé huit sous-stations à haute tension pour caractériser la réponse de la couverture après que trois stations aient été sévèrement endommagées au cours du séisme de 1988 survenu au Saguenay. De plus, Gaz Métropolitain a installé un accélérographe numérique en champ libre à son usine d'entreposage de GNL à Montréal, et la société New Brunswick Power en a installé un à la centrale nucléaire de Pointe Lepreau.